A Year and a Day

2 Jan

That’s how old D and I are today!

Yes, our anniversary is on January 1st.  We always get the funny side-eye on that one, but there actually was no crazy drunken debauchery associated with our getting together.   In our story, I mentioned that D and I actually took a break at the end of 2010.  Truthfully, I needed the break more than he did.  My head wasn’t in the right place and I wasn’t being the best person I could be.  Knowing that, I just wasn’t doing myself or D any good.  So we took a break so I could get my thoughts together.  I honestly took a gamble calling him at 9PM on December 31st.  He could have very well just said, “Eh, you’ve put me through enough, good day” or he could have even said that but with words I might have to censor!  But he didn’t.  From his version, he was so happy to hear from me.  The next day, the 1st, we met up for dinner and the rest, as they say, is history.  So how exactly did Anne and D celebrate?

Well, we didn’t have too much time this year as D had to go back to work today (the day after New Years!!  Someone call the Department of Labor!) so we booked one night at the Ritz-Carlton in Battery Park.  The room itself was lovely with a spectacular view of Hudson River and the Statue of Liberty.  Yes, I would be the one to forget a camera during this so I have no pictures, but you’ll have to  believe me it was wonderful!  When we got to the hotel, we had a few hours before our dinner reservations so we planned to walk around.  But, it was very windy and I didn’t have my hat or Uggs to keep my feet warm, so we quickly head back inside, got into our super comfy Ritz Carlton robes and watched some football and My Big Fat Greek Wedding. 

At around 6:30 we went to dinner at the famous Bull and Bear Steakhouse at Waldorf-Astoria.  The food was yummy and did not disappoint.  I had the Yellowfin Tuna Tartare for an appetizer and the Lamb for an entree.  D had the Onion Soup followed by a cute of Prime Rib.   Our waitress probably thought we hadn’t eaten all day because those disappeared very quickly.   For drinks, D had his favorite drink, a Bloody Mary.  I tasted it for the first time and honestly thought it just tasted like V8.  Like someone poured V8 in a glass and called it a bloody mary.  Ick.  For me, I started out with an Old-Fashioned, which sounded like a good idea at first, but just was too much of whatever it was.  I switched to a Chenin Blanc wine which was so smooth and so sweet.  For dessert, D had a Peanut Butter Ice Cream Bar and I had the Chocolate Ice Cream.   After the last bite, we both looked at each other, knowing that the Food Coma was shortly to follow.

When we got back to the room, D had a surprise waiting for me:  He ordered a bottle of champagne for us!   Well, that was apparently half of the surprise.   He also requested a dozen roses but they didn’t come through!   Being the quasi-alkies that we are, we couldn’t just go to sleep with a bottle of champagne just waiting to be enjoyed.  So we put on the Giants game and enjoyed our bottle of champagne.

Aaanndd….that’s the G rated version of what went down on our anniversary!  LOL.  

It has only been a year, but I’ve felt like its been a forever!  I can  honestly say that every day has been wonderful to spend with him.  Over this past year, we saw each other go from friends, to better friends, to lovers, to best friends who love each other and I couldn’t ask for more.  I am so excited to see where this year takes us, but I have a good feeling about it!

-A

8 Responses to “A Year and a Day”

  1. Michelle January 2, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    Congrats!

    • Anne Sabine January 2, 2012 at 3:11 PM #

      Hi Michelle!

      Thanks. Still enjoying it!!!

  2. TERRIfic Words January 2, 2012 at 5:05 PM #

    Congrats! I say celebrate the whole month. December 7th was my 5 year anniversary with my significant other. Because, we don’t usually do much to treat ourselves we decided that the entire month of December would be a celebration. It was absolutely perfect. You should try it!

    • Anne Sabine January 6, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

      Hi Terri!

      Thanks for stopping by! Oh, we are too poor to actually celebrate for an entire month, lol! But, we try to treat each day as a celebration, whether its a text or a hug. It’s always good to make your significant other feel appreciated.

      • TERRIfic Words January 10, 2012 at 7:34 AM #

        That’s exactly what we did. I am way too frugal to actually pay for things for the ENTIRE month. Other than spending $30 for a room in Atlantic City and going out to dinner twice, we rented movies from the library, made each other special deserts, and watched newlyweds together.

      • Anne Sabine January 10, 2012 at 6:41 PM #

        $30 for a room??!! Thats a great deal!

  3. Faith January 8, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    such a sweet post! so happy to read that you had a great time celebrating! cheers to many more happy and loving years together! happy anniversary!

    • Anne Sabine January 10, 2012 at 6:41 PM #

      Faith,

      Thanks so much for the well wishes.

Tell me something good!

