Friends, Friends, Friends…I love my Friends!

28 Dec

I have only a few really good friends.  At least good enough to make mention of on this blog.  I know a lot of people, but they are in that rung of friendship that lies in between being a “Facebook” friend and a real friend.  But my real, really good friends…the friends that I have been through thick and thin with?  I love those friends!  Let me tell you about a few of them:

J:  You know when a girl usually squeals and says:  THAT IS MY GIRL!!!  That’s quite possibly the only way for me to describe my bestie J.  We’ve known each other since high school and our friendship is now going on 12 years.  Our birthdays are one day apart, so we’ve always celebrated them together.  You wouldn’t that think two Aries could get along so well, but we do.  She’s one of the most beautiful, fun-loving, amazing women I’ve had the pleasure of knowing.    We’re hanging out tonight and I couldn’t be more excited.  LIES!  I just got more excited.  It’s been about a month since we last saw each other, and maybe 2 minutes since I last spoke with her, so tonight is going to be a gabfest!  Anywho, I don’t actually remember how we met, but I do remember knowing that she was going to be my best friend forever!

M:  I’m convinced he is the male version of J, sent to me in college to deal with my seperation anxiety of being so far apart from her.  We lived in the same dorm freshman year he actually introduced himself to me.  I think I forgot his name over the next few days, but finally got it right and we’ve been attached at the hip ever since.  Our friendship flowered over TV shoes and then growing up and dealing with all the shizz that comes along with it.  We’ve been through break ups and new relationships, schools, new jobs, family changes, etc with each other.  We’ve always said that when we were old, we’d hog the TV in the nursing home so we can keep up with Real World.  I couldn’t imagine it any other way.  Given that J is my BFF, he naturally had to be my BFFL (Best Friend For Life)

S: S is actually one of my oldest friends.  We’ve known each other since the 4th grade.  I was a little introverted (ok a lot) and just wanted to be close to my books and other inanimate objects.  LOL.  We went to junior high together but then seperated a bit because we went to different HS.  We reunited after high school to start going to clubs, getting our nails done and gabbing about guys.  Ever since then, we’ve been really close always, checking in a few times a week just to say hi and see what’s up.  She’s been all over from Virginia to Boston and now down to Maryland and I’ve visted her everywhere she’s been.  We always have our requisite nails appointment, and of course, lots of chatting!  It’s super rare to know someone for that long (15 years!!!), but I’m blessed to have her in my life.  She’s also one of my most spiritual friends, so it’s great to have someone, your age, that can understand your faith and help you share it.

M2: I guess M2 had to be M2, since I already have an M in my life.  LOL.  M2 and I met in grad school.  I know that started merely 1 year ago, but when you meet someone and you know, YOU JUST KNOW.  She is the most outgoing, fun,loud, and extremely awesome person I know.  When we get together, it always is a party.  She actually invited me to her friend’s birthday party in Vegas and it was one of the best times I’ve ever had.  Sometimes, I feel like I can’t keep up with her because I’m not a natural partier, but at the same time, she helps me tap into that part of myself so that I can let loose and just have a good time.  We went on a school trip last year to Argentina (and rocked it) and this year, we’ll do the same except in Israel!  Truly love this girl to pieces and hope our friendship can continue beyond grad school.

So, in a nutshell, those are my four CLOSEST friends.  The ones I would call in a heart beat and tell them that something awful has happened to me.   One of the weirdest things is that these friends don’t know each other.  On one hand, I’ll actually blame myself for that.  For the most part, I’ve met them at different times in my life, so we had different things to focus on.   I love talking about college with M and catching up on HS gossip with J, but what could all three of us talk about?  But on the other hand, I feel like all of my friends would and should love each other when they meet, but that hasn’t been the case.  M2 actually met M and J, but on seperate occasions.  Sadly, fireworks didn’t happen, which kinda has me confused.  Maybe they each appreciate something different about me? 

Gonna go ponder that some more.  How about you guys?  Do your friends love your friends?

-A

Tell me something good!

