Bad Decisions

18 Dec

I have not been in “my zone” for a few days now and I’m starting to get worried.   What is this “my zone” I speak of?  Well, its where I hunker down and get focused on studying, running errands, and actually being an efficient and contributing member of society.  When I’m not in my zone, I find that I laze around all day, not really doing anything which kinda puts me further into a funk.

Because I haven’t been in my zone, I’ve made some pretty bad decisions this weekend.  The first of which was to sleep in (as opposed to wake up with an alarm clock).  As we all know, there’s a happy medium with sleep.  Under a certain amount and you’re groggy; similarly, over that certain amount and you’re groggy.  On Saturday, I slept a whopping 9.5 hours!  I haven’t sleep that much in years.  And I think that may have been the reason why I woke up in a funk.  I planned on just eating and studying, but I couldn’t focus for some reason.  So I went over to D’s place (he wasn’t there, but I find it to be a productive place).  Instead, I wrote yesterday’s blog post, caught up with my blogs and then went to sleep for an hour, before enjoying a 2 hour lunch with a friend who lived nearby.  After all that, it was time for me to head back home since I promised my mom I would go to church with her.  After church, I felt a little more upbeat, but then decided to go out with D and his friends.  As I left the house, I kept telling myself that I was doing the wrong thing, but I kept walking to the bus, then got on the bus, then on the train and next thing you know, I was there.

We stayed out until 1:30 AM.  Eep!

This morning, we woke up at 8:30 which wasn’t too bad, but we took a while to actually get out of bed.  D is finished with his finals so he’s fine with bumming around, but he actually wants to read a book his boss recommended so he is constraining the amount of bumminess he exposes himself to.  We went and had breakfast at a diner for a total of $12 including tip!  While this made our wallets happy, I don’t think this will be our new place for dates, but it definitely will be in the consideration set when we’re looking for a bite on the cheap…

~~~~~~****** Update*******~~~~~~~

So, as I am writing the post, D comes back from shopping and is in shock that I haven’t moved a bit on studying.  We chat for a bit while he unpacks his stuff and then he mentions that he might not want to go to the gym.  I was like, “Oh no!  I’m not having any of that.  You’re taking your bum to the gym MISTER!”  And just like that, he was like, oh kay.  In the same moment, I felt like, hey I can’t start motivating people and not myself, so I got down to studying.  Once I was in the swing of things, it actually went pretty well. Got through 2/5 lectures.  Exam is Wednesday night.  I KNOW I CAN DO THIS.

I’ll be quiet over the next few days, so send me some love in the comment section or on twitter.  I’ll also accept prayers for the salvation of my grade as well!!

-A

Tell me something good!

