Temptation

27 Nov

I’ve got a few temptations, so maybe this will just be the first in a series of posts.  For now, my current temptation is getting out of my house.

I know, I know!  It was only a week ago that I wrote my Basement Chillin post where I sorta gushed over how awesome it was to live at home.  Except it has its drawbacks.

Namely:

1) I live with my parents.  I’ve come to that stage in my life where my parents are great in small doses. I think I started feeling that way at 13 actually, but practicality kept me home.  I do love them, don’t get me wrong.  But, if I couldn’t wait to break free from them when I was 13 years old, imagine what I must feel now?  If they ever happen to start reading female lifestyle blogs and read this post, I want them to know that I do feel blessed to have parents like them in my life, except sometimes, I feel like I need to be free.  Lately, that sometimes feeling has been happening more often.  And my friends are probably getting a bit cray hearing about me start the search and all of a sudden cut it off because I realized for the umpteenth time, that saving money > suffering.   Ok, maybe suffering is a bit much.  But what other term can you use to describe the utter frustration of being the only one of your working friends that lives at home where your parents manage once in a blue moon to really drive you up the wall?  Fine, its not suffering, but its something that made me want to furiously type this post.

and…

2) D.  While we’ve been together for a little over 10 months, things have been going pretty well.  And by pretty well, I mean extremely well.  He’s told me on several occasions that he would be open to living together, but he knows, (and now you guys are about to find out) that I’m not really a fan of the living-together-before-marriage thing.  While I think it may work for some people, I have this burning feeling inside of me (not unlike indigestion) that pre-marital cohabiting isn’t for me.  Yes, my spirituality has a huge part to do with it (and I’ll reserve for another post), but it still doesn’t stop me from wanting to live with him.  I feel like things are headed in the right direction.  We love each other.  We want to be together.    I can actually see a future with him.  But, the thing that get’s me is that I love spending time with him and our time always gets cut short because I need to make the commute back to my house (about an hour) or he to his.  It’s tough to say good-bye because I just want to spend more time with him.   Wouldn’t have that problem if I lived with him, right?  Not to mention, from a financial standpoint, I would actually be able to afford moving out if I lived with him.  I definitely don’t like the thought of a roommate, but I do like the idea of living with him.

What is a girl to do with those temptations?  Well, I’m not a daredevil or risktaker of any sort, so I’m probably just going to post this post and move on with my life.  I could imagine being less tempted to live with D if I had my own place, but I’d be worried that we would just end up living together or “pretending to live together” anyway.

Alright, I’m gonna wrap this up before I drive MYSELF cray with these thoughts.  But, it did feel nice to kind of get those thoughts out in the open.

-A

2 Responses to “Temptation”

  1. Mrs. H November 28, 2011 at 4:58 PM #

    I think you should do what’s in your heart. Living together prior to marriage isn’t for everyone. Though the temptation may be there the reward of sticking to your guns is all worth it in the end.

    • Anne Sabine December 4, 2011 at 1:00 AM #

      Hi Jan! Thanks for stopping by! I’m such a huge fan of your blog so this means a lot to me. I’m probably going to not move in, but just wanted to put my thoughts out there. It definitely refreshes me.

Tell me something good!

